Highs and lows of Covid-19 in England.

Me and one of my pooches Niko

Well it’s now day 13 of isolation for me since the Covid-19 pandemic began. It’s a very strange situation that is creating a new norm for at least the foreseeable future. I have to admit that the week before my isolation was one of the most stressful of my life. I am asthmatic, my husband is diabetic so this places both of us in at risk groups. I was aware of Covid-19 and had been hand washing golore and antibacterial cleaning as much as I could but there were a lot of people around me that did not see the seriousness of this virus. Many people dismissing it as ‘just a flu’ – well maybe it is if you are healthy with no underlying conditions but for me and most of my family this could be the difference between life and death.

Lucky for me I work with two amazing colleagues that I trust absolutely and with them by my side I was able to keep working for that week. It got worse as each day went by with more news about the virus spreading and threats of school closures and the like. On the Wednesday the government announced that schools would close on Friday and so from then on I worked at home. Unfortunately there is extremely limited work that I can do at home as my main job is managing a room full of two year old children. So unfortunately no online learning for these little ones.

It’s now day 27 of isolation and I haven’t been able to bring myself to come back and write. It’s been such a strange time. I spent one day lounging around on the sofa and it was so depressing with nothing to do and no reason to do anything. So I decided that I would keep busy. I’ve been cleaning, baking, dog training and exercising. I’ve also started to work my way through the house painting each room. None of these things are necessity but this is my routine now and I may as well try and use the time for things I’ve been meaning to do. I never have the time to work on specifics of exercise so I am now making the most of that and focusing on flexibility and building up strength in my hip. I’m so lucky that one of the other aerial teachers has lent me her frame so that I can practise aerial in the garden. It was so kind of her, I was totally overwhelmed.

Aerial in the garden with the A frame.

I’ve also started getting to grips with video calling and am in touch with my parents and my son regularly.

This is such a strange situation and the simplest things are becoming challenges. Trying to get shopping delivered is almost impossible, there are still no flour, limited eggs and cleaning products. We all just have to try out best to stay safe and stay home.

It was so disheartening to hear that Boris out primeminister had been admitted to hospital as his coronavirus symptoms worsened and that there are a whole raft of people dying from this awful thing. But we must fight it, we must win. I watch the daily update to see what’s happening and any news from the government but other than that I try not to take on too much news. And I’m a bit sick of hearing all the interpretations from different media but there’s no hiding from it and some people I know share everything with me via message. I try to ignore it as I don’t need to know.

Well it’s now November and 6 months since I wrote the start of this blog. I can’t believe it, I just haven’t been motivated to write. So much has happened. I had some real lows at the start of lockdown but managed to turn it around. I joined a personal trainer at girlswantsgains and started a health and fitness journey. I’ve now lost over a stone and look and feel so much better. I also returned to work. I made the decision to return in September and went against medical advice to do this but I felt that I had to return at some point and there was only so long I could be at home. If I’m honest I regretted that decision almost immediately but it’s done now and I am back. Work is stressful, working with colleagues that have different views on covid is difficult. I feel unsafe at work but that’s just the nature of this virus I guess.

Things had been relaxed somewhat in England but covid cases have risen again and we are now going into lockdown again on Thursday for at least a month. Everyone is hoping for a normal Christmas but I think this is unrealistic and we just have to accept that Christmas will be different this year. At least we have technology so we can video call family and friends. The virus is getting closer now, I have friends that are isolating because they’ve been in contact with people that have tested positive, one is her mother but thankfully she is ok. The nursery we are paired with has closed one room due to two members of staff testing positive. It just seems to get more worrying.

I don’t watch the news and try to avoid conversations about it all as I really don’t feel in a fit state to discuss it rationally. I guess lots of people feel the same.

I am trying to take the positives from all this. Appreciation for the things and people we love has definitely come to the forefront. My husband and I have got on really well throughout lockdown. I’ve spent more time with my dogs and appreciate the love they give. I have gained an appreciation for my body and the amazing things it can do. I’ve been able to spend time repairing my body which in turn has given me increased flexibility and enhanced my aerial hammock skills. I’ve had chance to begin to explore aerial hoop too. I guess at the moment we just have to keep going and I keep reminding myself that plenty of people have much worse situations than I do. I need to try and stay positive even if it’s tough at times.

Trying aerial hoop.

I’ll try and update this blog as we go along, it will be nice to look back and have this record of how I felt and cooed at the time.

I’d love to hear how you are feeling please message me or write in the comments!

Stay safe! ♥️

Leave a comment